My oven is decent.

September 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

Making baked goods in my apartment’s school issued oven sounded daunting at first. At home, I am lucky enough to have a convection oven (I miss it so much!!). Today was my first encounter with this oven for making anything other than my roommates’ chicken nuggets and tater tots.

I job shadowed at the Hilton Orlando today. I wasn’t able to meet their Pastry Chef (we’ll call him the awesome Austrian), but was told great things about his pairings of sweet and savory. The director of Human Resources mentioned that she had sampled the awesome Austrian’s bacon and chocolate brittle recently. When I got back to the apartment 6 hours later, I was craving sweet and salty.

I found this recipe for Fudge Brownies with Salted Caramel Topping on one of the blogs I follow, Natalie’s Killer Cuisine. Click here for the post and the recipe!

I apologize for the quality of my pictures. I am by NO means a photographer. I think you can get the gist of what I’m trying to show you though (:

I halved the brownie recipe, but I made the full recipe for the caramel. I went a little overboard with the topping… but to me that makes it way better! Next time, I think I want to try making this in a cupcake shape as suggested by one of my neighbors.

I have come to the conclusion that my oven… is decent.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My oven is decent. at The Big Tuna.

meta

